







# THE TRANSITIONAL STEERING COMMITTEE

### 1. Background

A Task Force to develop a Work Plan (2019-2020) for the African Road Safety Observatory was established following a number of Ministerial recommendations and a working meeting held in Nigeria in July 2018. This task force was transformed into a Transitional Task Force in a meeting in Morocco in December 2018 when an agreement was reached to seek the hosting of the African Road Safety Observatory under the African Union. The formal process is still ongoing and when it is completed a General Assembly will need to take oversight of this work plan and any subsequent revision.

## 2. Objective:

The objective of the Transitional Steering Committee is to ensure coordination and fulfilment of the task forces and ensure preconditions for the good liaison body between the observatory and governments and international organizations.

#### 3. Tasks:

The original terms of reference for this task force included:

- (i) Finalize set of variables related to crash data;
- (ii) Propose of road safety indicators to be monitored at the national level, and regional level, related to crash data, exposure data, vital registration data, and performance data;
- (iii) Develop timeline for reporting commitments at regional level;
- (iv) Set a work plan and target for improvement regarding availability, coverage, and data quality on Vital registration, Vehicle registration, Crash data, Safety performance indicators (taking into account the UN 12 global performance targets), Road inventory, Driving licenses;



















- (v) Make proposals on expected output of the observatory (e.g. database, periodic reports, joint surveys, training, web platform; etc.);
- (vi) Make proposals on the type of database.

## 4. Working method

Electronic communication moderated by the chair of the task force with periodic teleconferences (hosted via Webex hosted by the World Bank).

WB/SSATP/ ITF/FIA provide background materials and facilitate translation into French or English as needed.

### 5. The Structure

The transitional Steering Committee whose the current Chair is Benacer Boulaajoul (Director of the National Road Safety Agency of Morocco) is currently comprised by:



















	Country	Name	Title/Organization
COUNTRY MEMBERS	Morocco	Benacer BOULAAJOUL	Directeur de l'Agence Nationale de la Sécurité Routière
	Kenya	Duncan KIBOGONG	National Transport and Safety Authority
	Cameroon	Mbamome NKEDONG DIVINE	National Director of Road Safety and Road Transport
	Nigeria	Sydney IBEANUSI	Federal Ministry of Health
	Benin	Georges ANAGONOU	Chef Service Communication et Coopération de l'Agence Nationale de la Sécurité Routière
CO	Uganda	Ronald AMANYIRE	Secretary (Road Safety Commission)
	South Africa	Kevin Kara-Vala	Chief Information Officer
PARTNERS		Veronique FEYPELL	International Transport Forum
		Veronica RAFFO	World Bank
		Maria SEGUI GOMEZ	Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile
		Jane KARONGA	UN-ECA
		Girma BEZABEH	AfDB
		Tawia ADDO- ASHONG	Pillar Leader: Road Safety (SSATP)
		A. Placide C. BADJI	Policy Officer (Road Transport) under Infrastructure and Energy/AU
		Eugène D. Anoumou DAKITSE- BENISSAN	Corridor Abidjan-Lagos Organisation
SUPPORT		Yonas BEKELE	Consultant
		Mustapha Azzuzi CHAOUNE	Consultant
		Lamine Dieng DIALLO	Intern (World Bank-SSATP)
		Salim MAKARABO	Intern (World Bank-SSATP)





























